Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson

12844430

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened

(A Mostly True Memoir)

by Jenny Lawson, read by the author

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris-Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father (a professional taxidermist who created dead-animal hand puppets) and a childhood of wearing winter shoes made out of used bread sacks. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it.

Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter are the perfect comedic foils to her absurdities, and help her to uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments-the ones we want to pretend never happened-are the very same moments that make us the people we are today.

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened is a poignantly disturbing, yet darkly hysterical tome for every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud. Like laughing at a funeral, this book is both irreverent and impossible to hold back once you get started.

I wasn’t sure about this when it came in the mail, but then I started seeing raving reviews everywhere and decided to give it a try. I was laughing so hard on the way to work the day I started listening to this. Jenny Lawson is freaking hilarious. I honestly had no clue who she was before I got this, but I now I feel like I have to read her blog. Her tales of her seriously messed up childhood and really surreal adulthood are so funny. My favorite part was the section about her work in the HR department. The people sitting beside me at the stop lights probably think I’m a crazy woman because I was having serious laughing fits over that. If there’s anything I learned from this one it’s that I am really, really normal.

Lawson read this one herself. I’m never a huge fan of author’s reading their own work (unless they’re Neil Gaimon or Kevin Smith), but I thought she did a pretty good job. Some of it was a little awkward sounding, but no one could have delivered her lines the way she did. She was so funny and that totally overshadowed any issues I had with her narration.

Content: Profanity and other crude talk.

★★★★★

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Penguin Audio, 2012
Audio CD, $39.95
IBSN 9781611760859


cheesecake_copy2

 

About the Author

Known for her sardonic wit and her hysterically skewed outlook on life, Jenny Lawson has made millions of people question their own sanity, as they found themselves admitting that they, too, often wondered why Jesus wasn’t classified as a zombie, or laughed to the point of bladder failure when she accidentally forgot that she mailed herself a cobra. Her blog (www.thebloggess.com) is award-winning, extremely popular, and she is considered to be one of the funniest writers of our generation by at least three or four people. [Penguin]

Visit Jenny’s blog


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 Responses to “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson”

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge